Innovative antibody for

personalized medicine

Scientific background

TABO8: “first-in-class”, humanized IgG4 monoclonal antibody specific for the human T-lymphocyte co-stimulatory receptor CD28 

CD28 is expressed on most human CD4 and on approximately half of CD8 T-cells where it efficiently co-stimulates the activation and expansion of T-cells. Antibody requires only weak tonic T-cell receptor signaling and activates human T-cells solely by CD28 engagement. This unique capability of TAB08 has been described as “agonistic” T-cells stimulation. This propriety is intimately linked to the recognition of a specific epitope of the extracellular domain of CD28, the C’’D loop.

A proposed clinical application of TAB08 will be the temporary polyclonal activation and expansion of T-cells and the induction of a T-cell-mediated anti-tumor immune response in patients with B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (B-CLL).

In addition, TAB08 is being developed for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis (RA). As a proposed mechanistic mode-of-action, TAB08 has the property of improving quantitative balance and functions of regulatory T-cells and induction of anti-inflammatory mechanisms to suppress progression of autoimmune disease.

Innovative antibody for

personalized medicine

Научное обоснование

Разрабатываемое антитело TABО8: “first-in-class”, гуманизированное моноклональное антитело класса IgG4 против костимулирующего рецептора CD28, специфичного для человеческих Т-лимфоцитов 

Рецептор CD28 экспрессируется на подавляющем большинстве человеческих CD4-положительных и примерно половине CD8+ Т-клеток, где он эффективно костимулирует активацию и увеличение числа Т-клеток. Антителу требуется лишь слабая тоническая передача сигнала с Т-клеточного рецептора, что позволяет ТАВ08 активировать Т-клетки человека исключительно связыванием с CD28-рецептором. Эта уникальная способность TAB08 была описана как "агонистичная" стимуляция Т-клеток. Это свойство молекулы тесно связано с узнаванием конкретного эпитопа внеклеточного домена CD28-рецептора, так называемой C”D петли.

Предлагаемое клиническое применение TAB08 будет заключаться во временной поликлональной активации и увеличении числа Т-клеток и индукции Т-клеточно-зависимого противоопухолевого иммунного ответа у пациентов с В-клеточной хронической лейкоцитарной лимфомой (B-ХЛЛ).

Кроме того, TAB08 разрабатывается для лечения ревматоидного артрита (РА). Механизм действия TAB08 в РА заключается в восстановлении нормального численного баланса и функций регуляторных Т-клеток, что в свою очередь запускает противовоспалительный механизм и подавляет прогрессию аутоимунного заболевания.